Division E: Sun and Heliosphere

9 and 12 August 2023 

Workshop: Multi-wavelength Heliophysics from Space and the Ground

Scientific Organizing Committee: Cristina H. Mandrini (Co-chair), Toshifumi Shimizu (Co-chair), Timothy S. Bastian, Mingde Ding, Robertus Erdelyi, Ilaria Ermolli, Claire Foullon, Manolis K. Georgoulis, Sarah Gibson, Irina N. Kitiashvili, Heidi H. Korhonen, Alexander Nindos, Durgesh Tripathi

Scientific Rationale 

The research covered by Division E includes the study of the Sun, its variability, activity, and dynamics, as well as its impact on the Earth and other bodies within the heliosphere. Earth’s proximity to the Sun enables detailed investigation of its structure, the physical processes operating in its interior and atmosphere, as well as the radiation and the momentum and energy that propagate outward, into the heliosphere. Dynamical phenomena include waves, flares, coronal mass ejections, shock fronts, transient events  propagation, and the acceleration of particles in the interplanetary medium.

Our Division Days  find solar and heliophysics research in a very advantageous position to address key questions on the above topics. The study of the Sun and its region of influence, the heliosphere, benefits from an unprecedented number of space missions and cutting-edge  ground-based observatories providing multi-wavelength and multi-point measurements that span from the  photosphere, chromosphere, and corona to the heliospheric in situ plasma, particles, and magnetic field observed from several vantage points at various heliocentric distances.

Workshop General Outline 

Friday 8 August 

10:30 – 12:00  and 13:30 – 14:00 Session 1: Solar Radiation and Structure

Chair: C.H. Mandrini

Invited speakers (25 min each)

Matthias Rempel (Topic: Small scale dynamos)

Serena Criscuoli (Topic: Total solar irradiance)

Chris Nelson (Title: “How have modern observations changed our understanding of small-scale bursts in the solar atmosphere?’

Three contributed talks (15 min each)

14:00 – 15:00(+5min) Session 2: Solar Active Phenomena

Chair : TBD

Invited speakers  (25 min each) 

Piyali Chatterjee (Title: “The nature of the solar spicule forest”

Xin Cheng (Title: “Observations and 3D MHD simulations of turbulent reconnection within a CME-flare current sheet”)

One contributed talk (15 min each)

Monday 12 August

10:30 – 11:30(-5min) Session 2: Solar Active Phenomena (cont.)


Invited speakers (25 min each)

Spiros Patsourakos (Title: “The origins of coronal mass ejections and their initial stages: An observational account”)

Two contributed talks (15 min each)

11:30 – 12:00 Session 3: Solar Impact Throughout the Heliosphere 

Chair: TBD

Two contributed talks (15 min each)

13:30 – 15:00 Session 3: Solar Impact Throughout the Heliosphere (cont.)

Chair: TBD

Invited speakers (25 min each)

Teresa Nieves-Chinchilla (Topic: Flux ropes in the heliosphere)

Emilia Kilpua (Topic: Structure and magnetic fluctuations in ICMEs)

Stuart Bale (Topic: Interplanetary magnetic switchbacks)

One contributed talk (15 min each)

15:30 – 16:30 – Session: PhD Prize and Honorable Mention Winners

Chair: C.H. Mandrini

Yajie Chen – Thesis title: “Forward modeling of solar coronal magnetic field and plasma diagnostics”

Yuto Bekki – Thesis title: “Theory of solar oscillations in the inertial frequency range”

More to be confirmed.

16:30 – 17:00 – Division E Business Meeting

Four E-Poster Sessions will take place: 

Friday 8 August 10:00 – 10:30 and 15:00 – 15:30

Monday 12 August 10:00 – 10:30 and 15:00- 15:30

You can learn more about the work of this Division at this website https://iau.org/science/scientific_bodies/divisions/E/